Class of 2020 Celebrated With a Virtual Oath and Awards Ceremony
03 Jun

Class of 2020 Celebrated With a Virtual Oath and Awards Ceremony

Florida A&M University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Institute of Public Health (CoPPS, IPH), honored the Class of 2020 with a Virtual Oath and Awards Ceremony in place of its traditional ceremony because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The ceremony took place on a private Zoom channel for 56 Pharmacy graduates that chose to participate on Friday, May 8th.

Dr. Jonnie L. Early II, Dean of CoPPS, IPH, gave the keynote address to the graduates. He acknowledged that this is an unprecedented time; however, in true rattler sprit, there is “power in their purpose.”

CoPPS student leader, a PharmD Candidate, Matthew Clowers, provided words of encouragement and reflections to his classmates. In his speech, Clowers expresses that, “…we’ve all been blessed with different gifts and it’s up to us to use these gifts by going out into the world and exercising our skills to improve upon the lives of others.”

The virtual ceremony also included remarks from the President of the National Diamondback Pharmacy Alumni Council (NDPAC), Dr. Robert Thomas. Executive Director of the Florida Pharmacy Association, Mr. Michael Jackson, administered the Oath of a Pharmacist to the graduates during the ceremony.

Several awards were presented, including the pharmacy achievement award. This award acknowledged ten student pharmacists who were in the top 10 percent of the rigorous program.

Other awards included: The pharmacy alumni award, two former dean awards, the benefactor award, four pharmacist employer awards, pharmacy practice awards, and three awards from the Institute of Public Health.

In addition to student pharmacists’ awards, awards were presented to faculty, preceptors, and staff from the Tallahassee campus, the Peaden center and the three pharmacy instructional sites throughout the state.

The College plans to hold a formal ceremony at a later time.

About the Author