FAMU RCMI External Advisory Committee (EAC) Members

The External Advisory Committee (EAC) is composed of outstanding biomedical/behavioral scientists from industry, academia, and federal agencies recommended by past Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI) Program advisory members, core leaders, pilot project investigators and research participants. The EAC will meet annually to provide continuous monitoring of the program to assure a high-quality, clearly focused effort on achievement of institutional stated goals for expanding its biomedical research capacity. The EAC continues to be very active in providing prompt resolution of problems, periodic evaluation of all research related activities, and recommends timely changes as needed for improved program performance. The EAC chairman sets the agenda for the annual meeting in conjunction to the PI. The EAC provide advice regarding program management, develop general policies, regularly monitor overall operations, prioritize needs, and identify collaborations and resources. The EAC monitors progress toward program goals, addresses problem areas, refinements and improvements. The Committee encourages faculty development; identify alternative resources, recommend institutionalized enhanced research capabilities in order for FAMU to maintain a productive, competitive research environment. The Committee oversees concept and application development and reviews grants applications prior to submission and makes recommendations throughout the submission process.

External Advisory Committee 2017-2018

William L. Dewey, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Virginia Commonwealth University
McGuire Hall, 1112 E Clay Street
P.O. Box 980613
Richmond, VA 23298-0613
Tel: (804) 827-0375
Email: wdewey@vcu.edu

Paul Ardayfio, Ph.D.
Professor and Clinical Research Advisor
Eli Lilly and Company
893 S Delaware Street
Indianapolis, Indiana
Tel: (317) 276-2000
Email: ardayfio_paul_a@lilly.com

Clement K. Gwede, Ph.D., MPH, RN, FAAN
Senior Member, Population Sciences, Department of Health Outcomes & Behavior
Professor, Oncologic Sciences, University of South Florida College of Medicine
12902 Magnolia Drive
Tampa, FL 33612
Tel: (813) 745-3052 / Fax: (813) 745-6525
Email: clement.gwede@moffitt.org

Shyam (Sam) S. Mohapatra, Ph.D., MBA, FNAI, FAIMBE, FAAAS
Distinguished Health Professor
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Internal Medicine
Director, Center for Research & Education in Nanobioengineering
Associate Dean, USF Health Taneja College of Pharmacy Graduate Programs
12901 Bruce B. Downs Blvd., MDC 30
Tampa, FL 33612
Tel: (813) 974-8568
Email: smohapat@usf.edu

Philip C. Andrews, Ph.D.
Biochemistry, Chemistry, Bioinformatics
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: (734) 763-3130
Email: andrewsp@umich.edu

John D. Carpten, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Translational Genomics
Director, Institute of Translational Genomics
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
1450 Biggy Street Health Sciences California
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (323) 865-1591)
Email: carpten@usc.edu

Offiong Francis Ikpatt, MD
Associate Professor
Central Michigan University
1000 Houghton Avenue
Saginaw, MI 48602
Tel: (773) 316-3613
Email: ofrikpatt@yahoo.com

Penny Ralston, Ph.D.
Professor, Dean Emeritus & Director
Center on Better Health and Life for the Underserved
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL
Email: pralston@fsu.edu

RCMI External Program Evaluator

The Program Evaluator of the program is John C. Higginbotham, Ph.D. He is Associate Dean for Research and Health Policy and Director, Institute for Rural Health Research and Professor and Chair, Department of Community and Rural Medicine, The University of Alabama, School of Medicine, Tuscaloosa, Alabama. He serve as Program Evaluator from 2013-present.

As Program Evaluator, he is responsible overseeing the evaluation component, conduct an initial thorough needs assessment, develop evaluation plans, assess the appropriateness of specific aims, purpose, activity, procedures, define concrete milestones, goals impact, feasibility, and outcome. The EP management includes a steering component which includes all RCMI participants, the Executive Committees (EAC, IAC), researchers, collaborators and administrative staff all of which play an ongoing and active role in developing, engaging in, implementation of, evaluation and recommendations for processes subject to evaluation data collection and interpretation of results criteria.